Del Monte ends S'woods reign, tops Luzvimin Invit'l

The Philippine Star

Posted at Aug 12 2012 08:10 PM | Updated as of Aug 13 2012 04:10 AM

CAGAYAN DE ORO, Philippines – Del Monte Golf Club closed out the way it started – in impressive fashion – as it romped off with the Champion Infinity 20th Luzvimin Golf Invitational presented by Pacsports crown via a whopping 29-point win, ending Manila Southwoods’ four-year reign at the Pueblo de Oro Golf and Country Club here Friday.

Lovelynn Guioguio matched par 72 worth 54 Molave points, while Pamela Mariano, Apple Jean Fudolin, Eva Miñoza and Sofia Chabon backed her up with 52, 50, 48 and 46, respectively, as Del Monte assembled a 250 for a 54-hole haul of 764 to outclass the field in the premier Diamond division.

That was 29 points ahead of Southwoods, which dominated the last four stagings of the annual event organized by Women’s Golf Association of the Philippines (WGAP) but was relegated to the background in the face of the Bukidnon-based squad’s solid campaign this year.

The other members of the Del Monte team were Kristine Leonen and Rainstar Roque.

The Southwoods ladies, with Sunshine Baraquiel firing 55 points and Lora Roberto adding a 54, made a 245 and settled for runner-up honors with a 735 while Sta. Elena, led by Carina Ricamonte’s 50 and Rio Co’s 49 points, placed third with a 615 after a 218.

Other scorers for the former champions in the seven-to-play, five-to-count format event sponsored by Champion Infinity and Pacsports, were Annika Cedo (50), Christine Naidoo and Marie Claire Ong, who both had 43 points. Beachie Abiera and Deanna Samaniego didn’t count with 42 and 38, respectively.

Pueblo De Oro-1 came in fourth with a 592 after a 205 followed by Mactan (172-530), Pueblo De Oro-2 (160-484) and Orchard (126-375).

But Baraquiel, who set a Luzvimin record of 60 points – six-under par in stroke play – in the second round, retained the individual crown with a 168, beating Guioguio (159) by nine while Miñoza took third place with a 154.

Southwoods’ Cedo, meanwhile, bagged the Class A title with a 150, edging Chabon by three, while Tagaytay Highlands’ Hedy See (123) and JM Balbuena of Davao City Golf copped the Classes B and C crowns, respectively.