ABAP appeals Barriga’s loss


Posted at Aug 04 2012 11:54 PM | Updated as of Aug 08 2012 10:38 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The Amateur Boxing Association of the Philippines (ABAP) has filed a protest before the International Boxing Association (AIBA) over Mark Anthony Barriga’s defeat to his Kazakhstan foe in the London Olympics on Saturday.

Boxing commentator Ronnie Nathanielsz said ABAP President Ricky Vargas protested the incident that led to Barriga’s one-point defeat to Kazakh boxer Bishan Zhakypov, particularly the head butt warnings from the referee which cost Barriga the fight.

“ABAP president Ricky Vargas on instructions of Boss MVP (Manny Pangilinan) has filed a protest against the unfair 2 points deducted from Barriga in round 3,” Nathanielsz said through Twitter.

Barriga had a 10-8 lead over Zhakypov after 2 rounds but was warned by referee Roland Labbe in the third round for allegedly head butting the Kazakh.

AKTV, the official Philippine broadcaster of the London Olympics, reported that Barriga was only warned once in the third round, not twice, so the referee should not have yet applied the 2-point addition to Zhakypov.

Barriga lost 17 to 16. Without the 2-point addition to the Kazakh boxer, Barriga would have won.

The fight was marred by excessive clinching and wrestling from the Kazakh boxer, which resulted in Barriga falling to the floor several times.

The referee cited Zhakypov several times for wrestling Barriga to the ground in the third round, but the referee only warned him once.

“The deduction against Barriga was unwarranted after the Kazakh was warned several times for various infractions. It sucks,” said Nathanielsz.

Barriga’s protest is not the first in the London Olympics.

According to UK ’s Daily Mail, the AIBA overturned the loss of Japan ’s Satoshi Shimizu to Azerbaijan’s Magomed Abdulhamidov during bantamweight bout in the London Olympics.

Abdulhamidov was awarded a controversial victory despite being repeatedly floored by the Japanese during the fight.

The AIBA also overturned the decision in the welterweight bout between Indian boxer Vikas Krishan and Errol Spence of the US .

The agency found Errol the rightful winner after officials overlooked several fouls committed by Krishan. – With a report from Reuters