Delta White, UST Gold jins triumph in Smart tilt

The Philippine Star

Posted at Aug 01 2012 09:19 AM | Updated as of Aug 01 2012 05:19 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Delta White and UST Gold emerged women’s and men’s senior champions, respectively, in the 35th SMART national taekwondo tournament at the Makati Coliseum recently.

Elaine Alora, named the best player, powered the Deltans to the gold triumph past silver winner UST Black and bronze medalist UST Gold.

UST Gold, led by best player Christian Al dela Cruz, beat silver medalist San Beda Red and bronze winner Delta E.

Alyssa Bonifacio, Leigh Anne Nuguid, Apriel Solimen, Jyra Lizardo, Patricia Sembrano and Annalyn dela Peña backed up Alora of Delta, which was handled by Stephen Fernandez, who was tapped as the best coach.

Dindo Simpao was named best coach of UST Gold, which relied on Dela Cruz, Prince Marcos, Paulo Darilag, Paul Romero, Ernest Mendoza, Ronnel Avenido and Rodolfo Reyes to stash away the top plum.

The other gold medalists in the two-day event organized by the Philippine Taekwondo Association follow:

AMTC-Bacolod composed of Roem Joseph Ayuban, Ernesto Marcus Hintojas, Adriano Horlador, Keith Smart Docado, Jan Michael Casana and Deb Matthew Daclan, gradeschool boys; Bacolod Tiger-A (Princess Ranie Rose Dedoroy, Via Trocio, Sam Arrieta, Ashley Alarcon and Julienne Bermejo, gradeschool girls), Team Baguio (Angelica Joyce Gaw, Leslie Marie Agyamoc, Suzzane Glehn, Shannelle Romuar and Brighty Rio Salazar), junior women; University of the East (Carl Garcia, Aaron Galita, Philip Pineda, John Nityanda Lim, Clifferson Romuar, Jake Calda and Dale Brion), junior men.

Hintojas, Dedoroy, Caslangen and Clifferson Romuar were selected best players for their respective teams.

Emerging as best coaches were Vic Feria for AMTC-Bacolod, Jim Jim Chua, Bacolod Tiger A; Arnold Oglayon, Team Baguio, junior women; and Jeff Figueroa, junior men.

The runners-up in the different categories were Baguio Blue and Baguio Gray, gradeschool boys; Olympia and D’Club, gradeschool girls; D’Club and Olympia, junior women; University of Santo Tomas and Ateneo Eagle, junior men.