Sharapova, Murray join Manila team in tennis tour


Posted at Jul 24 2014 07:19 PM | Updated as of Jul 25 2014 03:23 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Russian superstar Maria Sharapova is teaming up with 2013 Wimbledon champion Andy Murray and Philippines No. 1 Treat Huey to form the Manila Mavericks of the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL).

Sharapova, Murray and Huey will be joined by Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Kirsten Flipekns, Daniel Nestor and Carlos Moya during the Manila leg of the IPTL on November 28-30 at the Araneta Coliseum.

"We are happy that our Philippines No. 1 and current ATP Doubles Top 30 Treat Huey has joined the Manila team, so his fans finally get to see him live in action at a home event for the first time," Philippine Tennis Association president Edwin L. Olivarez said in a statement.

Manila will be the first leg of the league that will also have stops in Singapore, India and the United Arab Emirates. The Manila Mavericks will compete with the UAE Royals, Singapore Slammers, and the Indian Aces for the total prize money of $1-M.

It has been earlier revealed that world No. 1 Novak Djokovic will lead the UAE Royals. He will be joined by Richard Gasquet, Janko Tipsarevic, Goran Ivanisevic, Caroline Wozniacki, Martina Hingis, Nenad Zimonjic and top Arab player Malek Jaziri.

The IPTL is a new team tennis competition that features the best current and former ATP and WTA players across four selected cities in Asia in a competition lasting from November 28 to December 13.

The teams will play 24 matches in a round-robin format to determine the first ever IPTL League Champion.

There will be changes to the traditional scoring format of tennis, according to IPTL founder Mahesh Bhupathi, which allows them to "speed up the games and allows us to expose the fans to up to 24 different players in one evening."

Tickets for the event will go on sale in early August. Each ticket will entitle the holder to watch daily matches which will start around 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. each day.