Smart taekwondo draws huge field

The Philippine Star

Posted at Jul 24 2012 01:42 PM | Updated as of Jul 24 2012 09:42 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The Philippine Taekwondo Association’s biggest annual team event – the 35th Smart national championships – will be held July 28-29 with around 2,000 participants vying for top honors at the Makati Coliseum.

The banner field includes one of last year’s top senior division gold medalists, R-Jay del Rosario of DLSU Delta, according to organizing committee chairman Sung Chon Hong.

The athletes will carry the colors of teams from PTA chapters in 12 regions together with the ARMM, CAR, CARAGA and NCR and the different AFP commands and the Philippine National Police.

Aside from DLSU, the other teams vying are Ateneo, CSB, UST, UE, FEU, LSGH, Lyceum, San Beda College, Don Bosco Makati, UP Diliman, Baguio, Central Gymnasium, Negros Taekwondo Union, Cebu, DPS, Olympic, DLSZ, San Beda Alabang, Powerflex, Don Bosco Mandaluyong, Las Piñas Gym, Philippine Navy, Philippine Air Force and Philippine Army.

Members of the Philippine team will also see action for their respective home squads.

The electronic scoring system used by the World Taekwondo Federation in the world championships will be utilized during the prestigious event sponsored by Smart Communications Inc., PLDT, Milo, Philippine Sports Commission and MVP Sports Foundation.

Ambassador Lee Hye Min of South Korea will be guest of honor during the opening ceremony set at 1 p.m. The Phl team will give a special performance.

Also gracing the ceremonial rites are PLDT/Smart chairman Manuel V. Pangilinan, MVP Sports Foundation president Alfredo Panlilio, PSC Commissioner Wigberto Clavecilla Jr., Makati Mayor Jejomar Erwin Binay Jr., Makati City Administrator Marjorie de Veyra, Congresswoman Monique Yasmin Lagdameo, Congresswoman Mar-Len Abigail Binay, Makati councilor Monsour del Rosario, Korea Association of the Philippines vice president Lee Jon Sub, Milo sports executive Andrew Neri, MVP Sports Foundation director Vincent Santos and other Makati councilors.

Martial arts enthusiasts, especially children interested in taekwondo, and other sports fans are invited to watch. Elimination matches are set at 9 a.m.