Portugal dominates touring car opener

The Philippine Star

Posted at Jul 22 2014 06:18 PM | Updated as of Jul 23 2014 02:18 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Last year’s overall runner-up Mayor Dondon Portugal of Taysan, Batangas flashed top form and dominated the kickoff of the Philippine Grand Touring Car Championships Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit recently.

Portugal swept both the GT300 titles in the 10-lap Sprint race and the 17-lap GT Main race while finishing second overall in the Sprint race to beat veteran celebrity campaigner Jomari Yllana for the GT300 crown.

He also repeated over Yllana in the GT Main race of the event which served as part of the BRC Motorsports Championship season presented by Petronas and sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines.

Paolo Mantolino finished second overall behind Portugal in the GT Main race and turned in another runner-up effort in the Sprint race to bag the GT200 plum.

Richmon dela Rosa, meanwhile, emerged champion in the tightly-fought GT150 class, edging Bong Perez, Joel Portugal in the Sprint race.

Joel Portugal later topped the GT Main Race over Ed Anguluan and Raymond Ronquillo.

Without defending champion Jody Coseteng, the field scrambled for pole position with reigning PTCC champion Carlos Anton of Ethanworks Racing ruling the Sprint race on a GT200 car against Portugal’s GT300 Evo8.

But Anton lost control after a brief skirmish with Yllana midway of the first lap that had the former spinning out and stopping at a dangerous spot in the middle of the track.

At the re-start of the race, Portugal quickly took charge and went on to claim the checkered flag in the GT Main race 23.873 seconds ahead of Mantolino.

In the Winds Formula Philippines race, Japanese Takashi Ito beat Sung Joon Park and Jeremy San Diego while Jimmy Sarsosa prevailed over Don Andaya and Al Jeffrey Lacambra in the Sparco Bracket Circuit.

Carlos Castaneda, meanwhile, claimed the Open Pro crown in the Philminicar Series, besting Rodney Caballero and Arvir Gervacio, while Jun Mallari won the Expert division over Anthony Jose and Aries Padiernos topped the Junior class over Ron Tolentino and Kenneth Vincent Angala.

Anthony Cruz pocketed the Newbie title.

In the VW Kafer Cup, Daniel Castaneda copped the Class A plum over Rudy Bunag and Dino de Jesus while Raffy Locson bagged the Class B title over Dindo Razonable.

Meanwhile, the next leg is set July 26-27 also at the Batangas Racing Circuit. For details, contact the Batangas Racing Circuit c/o Nelson Gayola or Rodini Rivera at (632) 729-72 41-42, 729-5365 or fax 844-7766, 0922 8858410 or like us on Facebook, www.facebook.com or visit www.batangasracingcircuit.