Floyd beats Pacquiao for ESPY Best Fighter award


Posted at Jul 17 2014 12:26 PM | Updated as of Jul 17 2014 08:26 PM

MANILA – Undefeated American boxer Floyd Mayweather Jr. won the Best Fighter award in the 2014 edition of the ESPYs, marking the sixth time in his career and the third year in a row that he took home the trophy.

Mayweather beat fellow boxers Andre Ward and Manny Pacquiao, as well as UFC stars Jon Jones, for the honor.

Mayweather also won the award in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2013.

The ESPY (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly) is presented annually by ESPN. The winners are chosen through fan voting.

Pacquiao last won the award in 2011, at the time beating Bernard Hopkins, Jones, Sergio Martinez, and Georges St-Pierre.