36 schools join 11th Fr. Martin D2 basketball tilt


Posted at Jun 28 2013 04:03 PM | Updated as of Jun 29 2013 12:03 AM

MANILA -- A total of 36 school teams are joining the 11th Fr. Martin Division 2 Cup basketball tournament, which reels off on Saturday, July 13, at the Trinity University of Asia gymnasium in Quezon City.
The defending champion University of the East Warriors are among the 18 senior squads listed in the seniors division, while Hope Christian School will join 18 others as they seek back-to-back championship honors in the juniors.
Commissioner Robert de la Rosa said this tournament is for players listed in their school’s developmental team. It is held annually during the ongoing first semester collegiate season, and has attracted member schools from the UAAP and the NCAA.
The Ateneo Blue Eagles are also participating and are bracketed in Group A with the UE Warriors, along with the Arellano University Chief, the San Sebastian Stags, the Jose Rizal University Heavy Bombers, the College of St. Benilde Blazers, Lyceum Philippines University, Trinity University of Asia and Diliman Preparatory School.
Bracketed in Group B are the La Salle Green Archers, the University of the Philippines Maroons, the National University Bulldogs, the University of Perpetual Help Altas, the San Beda Red Lions, the Letran Knights, the Emilio Aguinaldo College Generals, Enderun and Angeles University Foundation.
Hope is in Group A of the junior division, along with La Salle-Zobel, NU, UE, San Benildo, San Sebastian, Arellano University, Mapua and AUF.
In Group B are University of Santo Tomas, Adamson, San Beda, Chiang Kai Shek, Xavier, JRU, St. Joseph-Bulacan and AMA.