36th Milo run starts in July


Posted at Jun 21 2012 06:07 PM | Updated as of Jun 22 2012 02:07 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Milo will launch its long-running marathon event with a grand kick off in Baguio City this coming July.

The 36th National Milo Marathon, which will span 18 races across 17 cities, is expected to draw 200,000 runners this year.

“Through the Milo Marathon, we are able to provide shoes to underprivileged children to help them become champions in sports and in life,” said Andrew Neri, Milo's sports executive.

To date, Milo has given shoes to 14,200 children all over the Philippines through its advocacy.

This year, another 10,000 children will be given a pair of running shoes in the hopes of helping them reach their dreams. For every runner that joins, P10 pesos from the registration fee will go to the advocacy.

Milo, in cooperation with the Department of Education, will select 100 students who show promise in academics and sports from 100 public schools all over the country as beneficiaries.

Open and local

To support homegrown talent, while also giving a venue for foreign runners to compete, the 36th National Milo Marathon will now have Open and Local categories for the 42.195-K and 21-K races in the Manila eliminations and national finals.

Both foreign and local participants can compete and win in the Open category.

However, in case a local participant finishes in the top 3 of the Open category, the runner waives the right to win the prize in the Local category.

Foreigners are eligible to win only in the Manila races.

The National Milo Marathon will be giving away over P8 million in prizes and P300,000 grand prize for the Milo Marathon King and Queen.

Last year’s 42K marathon champions, Mary Grace delos Santos and James Tallam, will be defending their titles and aiming to break their best time of 2:53:07 for the female division and 2:28:02 for the males.

New venues

New venues will also see action -- namely Lipa, Angeles and Baguio -- giving more runners a chance to take part in the Milo marathon qualifiers.

The National Milo Marathon starts on July 1 in Baguio, followed by Dagupan (July 8), Tarlac (July 15), Angeles (July 22), Naga (August 19), San Pablo (September 2), Lipa (September 16), Puerto Princesa (September 23), Tagbilaran (September 30), Cebu (October 7), Bacolod (October 4), Iloilo (October 28), General Santos (November 4), Davao (November 11), Butuan (November 18) and Cagayan de Oro (November 25).

SM Mall of Asia will again be the venue for the Manila eliminations slated on July 29, and the national finals on December 9.