Ateneo routs San Beda to take FilOil crown


Posted at Jun 12 2011 08:30 PM | Updated as of Jun 13 2011 09:28 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles clinched the Fil-Oil Flying V Pre-Season championship with a 75-56 hammering of the San Beda Red Lions.

Greg Slaughter led Ateneo with a double-double of 14 points and 11 rebounds, while Kiefer Ravena and Kirk Long added 12 and 11 points, respectively. Juami Tiongson came off the bench to score 13 points.

Garvo Lanete scored 17 points for San Beda. Big man Ola Adeogun had 10 points.

This is Ateneo’s first ever  FilOil championship. Standout rookie Ravena bagged the Finals Most Valuable Player award.

Ateneo struck early against the reigning NCAA champions, who were missing prized rookie Baser Amer due to sickness.

The Season 73 UAAP champions got off to a hot start, outscoring San Beda 25-10 in the first quarter. Ravena led the way for Ateneo with nine early points.

But San Beda stormed back in the second canto behind physical defense and aggressive offense. Lanete and Adeogun came alive to score six markers each, and the Red Lions ended the first half with a 6-0 run to get within single digits, 36-27.

The early third quarter saw an exchange of points between the teams. Lanete brought the Red Lions within seven points via a floater, only to see Eman Monfort hit a lay-up on the other end. With 6:04 remaining, San Beda got within six points when Nico Salva was called for a goal tending.

But Ateneo controlled the rest of the quarter, only allowing San Beda to score only four more points. The Blue Eagles extended their lead to 13 and would not look back.

In the Juniors division finals, the San Beda Red Cubs triumphed over the RP Under-16 team, 79-70. Red Cub Arvin Tolentino was the Best Player of the Game, while Francis Abarcar was awarded the Finals MVP trophy.

Special awards were handed out before the Seniors’ championship. Yousef Taha of Mapua, Hippolyte Noundou and RR Garcia of Far Eastern University, Ravena of the Ateneo and  Laneto of San Beda made up the Mythical Five.

Taha was also named Best Defensive Player.