RC Cola faces AirAsia for No. 2

The Philippine Star

Posted at Jun 11 2014 08:48 AM | Updated as of Jun 11 2014 04:48 PM

MANILA, Philippines - RC Cola-Air Force and AirAsia clash today for solo second spot as action in the PLDT Home-Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Filipino Conference volleyball tournament heats up at the Cuneta Astrodome.

The Raiders test the Flying Spikers’ mettle at 2 p.m. with the former looking for their fourth win in five games and the latter gunning for their third victory against a loss.

Systema and Instituto Estetico Manila, meanwhile, collide at 4 p.m. while leader PLDT-Air Force going for a sweep of the first round elims against winless Via Mare at 6 p.m. in men’s play of the premiere club tournament supported by PLDT Home DSL and backed by Mikasa, Asics, Mueller Tapes, Jinling Sports Equipment, LGR, Bench and Healthway Medical.

After sweeping their first three games, the Raiders dropped a 22-25, 13-25, 24-26 setback to the Petron spikers, who were led by the power-hitting Dindin Santiago of National U.

Santiago finished with 19 kills and two blocks for a total of 23 hits that forced Raiders’ coach Clarence Esteban to pull out setter Rhea Dimaculangan for defense-minded, more experienced Wendy Semana.

Like RC Cola, AirAsia, bannered by the core of the La Salle squad, swept its first two matches, beating PLDT Home TVolution and Cagayan Valley. But the Flying Spikers struggled coming off a long layoff and bowed to the reigning champion Generika-Army tossers, 20-25, 25-23, 20-25, 15-25.

The Lady Troopers improved to 2-2 while the Flying Spikers fell to third with a 2-1 card in the event organized by Sports Core with Solar Sports as official broadcast partner.

But AirAsia coach Ramil de Jesus is upbeat of his wards chances against RC Cola with veterans Michelle Laborte, Cha Cruz, Stephanie Mercado and rookie Abby Marano all expected to step up their respective games.

The RC Cola-Air Force side, meanwhile, will lean on the likes of Maika Ortiz, Judy Ann Caballejo and Dimaculangan who all campaigned for University of Santo Tomas.