Villamor Air Base bowlers top President Cup


Posted at May 21 2012 10:12 PM | Updated as of May 22 2012 06:12 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine State College of Aeronautics (Philsca) Villamor Air Base Bowling Team F leaned on its top gunner to rule the 1st Philsca President Cup/Dr. Bernard R. Ramirez Bowling Tournament last Friday at the AMF Puyat Bowling Lanes in Makati City.

Joseph Lopena (396), Lovel Ralph Fineza (367), Imelda Garcia (304), Estrella Yago (301), Juanita Quijana (291) and Hilaria Datoon (255) spearheaded the Villamor Air Base Bowling Team F to assemble a total pin falls of 1,699, with an average score of 566.33 and secure the gold medal in the team event.

Lopena and Fineza joined Robert Santillana (353) of Mactan Campus, Gener Guce (337) of Lipa Campus and Felix Alegado (322) of Pampanga Campus in the top five male bowlers.

Garcia, Yago, Quijana and Datoon were among the top five female bowlers, which also includes individual topnotcher Marijin Rueca (333) of the Lipa Campus.

Team K of Fernando Air Base in Lipa City settled for the silver medal with total pin falls of 1663 and an average score of 554.33.

Team L of Mactan Benito Ebuen Campusin Cebu took home the bronze with a toal pin falls of 1655 and an average score of 551.67.

Other awardees were: Basilio Asistol for lowest pin falls in two or three games; Raymund Tacuboy for lowest pin falls ina single game; Joseph Lopena for highest pinf alls in two or three games and most number of strikes in two or three games; and Jonathan Nagasao for highest pin falls in a single game.

Also getting individual awards were Melanie Sacuezo, Merlita Marijin Rueca, Hilaria Datoon, Jesuasa Pasia, Prescila Pangilinan, Helen Domingo and Eliza Grampil.

Filipino tenpin bowler and Hall-of-Famer Olivia “Bong” Coo and Philsca president Dr. Bernard R. Ramires rolled the ceremonial first ball to grace the opening.

Coo shared some secrets for her rise as one of the world’s top players during the opening ceremonies. By Marlon Bernardino