Tan, Enriquez triumph in scooter, underbone

The Philippine Star

Posted at May 15 2014 11:59 AM | Updated as of May 15 2014 07:59 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Jose Reuben Tan and Johnlery Enriquez pulled off a pair of stirring wins to steal the spotlight in the FDR Philippine Scooter Racing Championship Series and FDR Underbone King Championship Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit recently.

Tan nipped two rivals in a fierce battle to capture the premier 180cc Automatic Scooter crown while Enriquez flashed top form to clinch the premier 150cc plum in his side of the event serving as part of the Motorsports Championship Season presented by Petronas and sanctioned by the Underbone and Scooters Racing Association.

Tan slugged it out with James Barcial and Paul Mark Doblada until the final lap where he grabbed the lead and gained just enough distance to hack out the win, wrapping up the eight-lap race in 16 minutes, 8.932 seconds or just a mere 0.350 of a second ahead of Barcial.

Doblada checked in 0.723 for third while Mark Chua and Dustin Esguerra ended fourth and fifth, respectively, in the event supported by media partners Racing Beat @ Wave 89.1, Inside Motoring @ DZRJ810khz and Motorsiklo Xklusibo @ DZME 1530.

Aljon Valencia bagged the 160cc Automatic Scooter title after turning back Mark Indiongco and Jasper John Cruz while John Edward Godoy took the 130cc Automatic Scooter plum over Gian Carlo Mauricio and McKinley Kyle Paz.

Enriquez failed to defend the Scooter Racing Championship Series but took the 150cc Open plum, completing the eight-lap race in 15:38.707, beating Herbert Lopez by 1.175 seconds.

John Emerson Inguito came in third while Gerald Cruz and Marvin Mangulabnan wound up fourth and fifth, respectively.

Vrei-AR Suba ruled the 115cc Open over Robert Matthew Ramos and Paul Pangilinan while Aljon Valencia prevailed in the 115cc Novice division over James Aeron Amporias, Aldeine Valencia and Jerico Gesmundo.

Meanwhile, action resumes on May 17-18, also at the Batangas Racing Circuit. For details, contact the Batangas Racing Circuit c/o Nelson Gayola or Rodini Rivera at (632) 729-72 41-42, 729-5365 or fax 844-7766, 0922 8858410 or like us on Facebook, www.facebook.com/ Batangas Racing Circuit or check out our website http://www.batangasracingcircuit.org.