23 Azkals called up for Challenge Cup


Posted at May 09 2014 09:43 PM | Updated as of May 10 2014 09:32 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) has submitted to the Asian Football confederation (AFC) the list of Azkals players who will represent the country in the 2014 Challenge Cup.

The 23-man roster was assembled by the men's national team coaching staff, according to the PFF.

Those who were called up were:

1. Etheridge, Neil Leonard
2. Gier, Robert James
3. Sato, Daisuke
4. Del Rosario, Anton Edward
5. Guirado, Juan Luis
6. De Jong, Jason Nicolas Maria
7. Younghusband, James Joseph
8. Cagara, Dennis
9. Bahadoran, Misagh
10. Younghusband, Philip James
11. Reichelt, Patrick
12. Burkey, Nathaniel
13. Doctora, Ruben
14. Martinez de Murga, Carlos Alberto
15. Muller, Roland Richard
16. Deyto, Patrick Phillip
17. Schrock, Stephan Markus
18. Greatwich, Christopher Robert
19. Lucena, Jerry Ruben
20. Porteria, Jose Elmer
21. Steuble, Martin Markus
22. Mulders, Paul
23. Rota, Simone

The players are in Bahrain where they are undergoing a 10-day training camp for the Challenge Cup that will be held from May 19 to 30, 2014 in the Maldives.

The Philippine Akals hope to improve from their third-place finish in the 2012 AFC Challenge Cup.

The winner of the Cup will advance to the 2015 AFC Asian Cup in Australia.