Cream of NCAA, UAAP featured in Filoil Cup

The Philippine Star

Posted at Mar 22 2012 01:45 PM | Updated as of Mar 23 2012 12:36 AM

MANILA, Philippines - College basketball takes center stage next month ahead of the season as the seventh Filoil Flying V Pre-Season Hanes Cup unwraps on April 14 with eight UAAP teams and 10 NCAA squads clashing in what promises to be another thrilling battle for the coveted crown.

Ateneo is back to defend the crown it won over San Beda last year but the Eagles are expected to face tough challenge from the rest of the competing field all priming up for the UAAP and NCAA seasons.

The three-month long tournament, presented by Bostik Phils Inc., was formally launched Tuesday at the Bagoong Restaurant in Tomas Morato St. in Quezon City with a press conference and coaches meeting attended by the team managers, coaches and representatives of the participating teams.

Games will be played at the Filoil Flying V Arena in San Juan.

Also present during the launch were the top officials of the organizing Filoil Flying V Sports, led by its new chair, former PBA player Boysie Henares and this year’s tournament commissioners Ato Badolato, Aric del Rosario, Pepe Sanchez, Bert dela Rosa and Joey Lim.

Badolato presided over the coaches meeting, assisted by Levi Valenzuela, head of the referees commission and Jun Bayais, chief of the table officials.

All eight UAAP schools – Ateneo, La Salle, University of the East, National University, Adamson, Far Eastern U, University of the Philippines and University of Sto. Tomas – and the 10 NCAA squads – San Beda, San Sebastian, Letran, College of St. Benilde, Jose Rizal U, Mapua, Arellano University, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Lyceum and University of Perpeutal Sytem Dalta – have confirmed participation in the annual tournament along with their junior counterparts, except for the UE Pages. In its place, Xavier School of Mandaluyong will be included in the roster.

The Filoil Flying V Cup roster of champions includes DLSU, (2006-2007), UE (2008), FEU (2009) and SSC-R (2010). Molten is the tournament’s official ball.