La Salle, Ateneo clash for women's volleyball title

By Dyan Castillejo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 15 2014 02:07 AM | Updated as of Mar 15 2014 10:07 AM

MANILA - The Ateneo women’s volleyball team got very emotional after their close win against three-peat champions La Salle last Wednesday in the finals of the UAAP Season 76 women’s volleyball.

Down by a championship point in the 5th set they managed to hold on and come out victorious, winning 17-15.

"I wasn't trying to mind the crowd. I hear the noises, I just try to focus on the game," said Ateneo player Amy Ahimiro.

It was a heartbreaking loss for De La Salle who came back from two sets down to take the third and fourth set. They took most of the lead in the fifth set but lost out in the last couple points, which included a double call on their player Kim Fajardo at match point.

"Composure, importante po yun at saka tiwala sa sarili," said Abi Marano on their coming Game 4 match.

On Saturday’s do-or-die game, De La Salle is determined to put the loss behind them and go for the win and their 4th straight UAAP volleyball title.

"Meron pa namang Saturday game so dun na lang talaga, kelangan hindi pupwedeng ganon ang start namin," said La Salle coach Ramil de Jesus.

Ateneo plans to continue their winning strategy - to focus on playing one point at a time and, as their Thai coach constantly reminds – “stay happy on the court.”

“’Yung team work talaga ang nagwork sa amin eh. Lahat nagcontribute sa blocking, sa spiking, sa receive. Lahat may depensa, ‘yun ang pinakaimportante,” said Ateneo player Alyssa Valdez.

The Season 76 women’s volleyball title will come down to Saturday’s game. The winning team will be crowned champions.

As in the last game, well-known personalities are expected to be in attendance.

"Kayang kaya [ng La Salle], if you saw last year nagawa yun eh," said Jeron Teng.

“I'm cheering for both. I'm from both school eh," said BIR Commissioner Kim Henares.

“Kaya excited ako e, sabi ko hindi pwedeng mamiss eh. kelangan makawatch ako talaga eh,” said television host-actor Vice Ganda.

The final game will be aired live on ABS-CBN Channel 2.