Final call in Ateneo-La Salle volley game: right or wrong?

By Camille B. Naredo,

Posted at Mar 13 2014 02:42 PM | Updated as of Mar 13 2014 10:42 PM

MANILA – Volleyball analyst Noreen Go lamented the “anti-climactic” ending of the thrilling five-setter between the Ateneo Lady Eagles and the De La Salle Lady Spikers but stressed that the referee was correct to make the call.


With Ateneo at match-point, 16-15, La Salle setter Kim Fajardo was called for a double violation that allowed the Lady Eagles to win the match and force a sudden death showdown for the UAAP Season 76 women’s volleyball crown.

The call drew the ire of the La Salle players and staff, with Coach Ramil de Jesus seen complaining about it to the officials.

“You know, volleyball is different from basketball,” Go said on “The Score” Wednesday night. “Sometimes in basketball, people will say, let it go. Sometimes you feel it’s a foul but they won’t call it.”

“But in volleyball, you call as you see it, every point. If the player touches the net of if the ball hits the antenna, you call every point, which is just right,” she said.

Explaining the violation, Go said: “Based on the slo-mo, if you can see, it was a misreceive. People are contesting that (Ateneo star) Alyssa Valdez overreached, kasi bina-block niya ‘yung path ng setter.”

“But when you look before that, talagang double touch (on Fajardo). Parang nag-roll sa kamay niya, so she wasn’t able to set it well,” Go added. “That happened in front of referee Bob Malenab.”

De Jesus said they have no choice but to accept the decision.

“Talagang ganoon eh. Dumarating sa bawat situation na dumarating ‘yung ganyan eh, so kailangan tanggapin,” he told Dyan Castillejo of ABS-CBN News.

That last point allowed Ateneo to complete a 25-21, 25-23, 18-25, 16-25 and 17-15 win.

The Lady Spikers and the Lady Eagles meet in the final game of Season 76 on Saturday. -- With a report from Dyan Castillejo, ABS-CBN News.