Circuit Showdown draws record 115 cars

The Philippine Star

Posted at Mar 09 2014 06:11 PM | Updated as of Mar 10 2014 02:11 AM

MANILA, Philippines - This year’s opening round of the BMC Air Filter Circuit Showdown proved to be an exciting preview of the season ahead as entries totalled 115 cars – the biggest number of competitors ever.

Bracket G was led by Oscar Ilagan and a hair-splitting second place by Lester Shih while Alan Santos placed third.

Bracket F saw Argel Reyes rule his class, followed by Jobert Mamuric and Gian Carlo Avila. In Bracket E, Paulo Cuerpo drove his way to first place, with Jem Querimit and Ian Ison rounding out the top three.

Bracket D top riders were Rhaffy Latore, Alking de la Cruz and Ryan de Laray. In Bracket C, Andrew de Asis took home the first place trophy, chased closely by Eugene Uyboco and Borek Fallorin less than a tenth of a second away.

Moving on to the fastest brackets, Edward Pujol led Bracket B, with Felix Perez and Lewy Manio on second and third. Bracket A, the fastest street-tire bracket, was dominated by Evos, led by Mato Tan, followed by Sam Avila and Miko Maristela.

In the Toyota 86/Subaru BRZ Club class, Pauland Dumlao topped the time sheets – the fastest 86/BRZ lap record in BRC. He was followed by Victor Buensuceso in second and Sassan Moscoso in third place.

The fastest lap of the day went to Carlos Anton in his CRX.

The grid races featured intense wheel-to-wheel racing action, with Grid C packing the most number of entries, with Suiza, Lesley Tuazon and James Santiago rounding out the top three. Grid B was a breathtaking race with the top drivers having close calls at the Yamaha hairpin.

Edward Pujol crossed the finish line ahead of Lewy Manio (second) and Jun Cabrera. Grid D, saw Daniel Pineda take first place pursued closely by Adrian Lampano in second place, and Paolo Lofamia taking third. The big boys of Grid A were dominated by Ferdie Sia followed by Don Don Portugal and Miko Maristela

The BMC Air Filter Circuit Showdown continues with Round 2 at Clark International Speedway April 5-6, running with the Asian V8 Championship races.

The event is supported by BMC Air Filters, GT Radial Tires, Mitsu Lubricants Japan, Staging Lanes, A1 Advertising, Aguila Auto Glass, Rota Wheels, Richmond Auto Parts, Hans, Exedy performance clutches, Skunk 2 Racing, Spy Eye Wear, Foil A Car Manila, Aero Med, Brembo Brakes, Sabelt, Philgerma, Driven, Refresh, Walter Sound and Stage Lighting and C! Magazine.