SBC booters down Chiefs, capture crown

The Philippine Star

Posted at Feb 18 2014 09:15 AM | Updated as of Feb 18 2014 05:15 PM

MANILA, Philippines - San Beda leaned on Raffy Cabug to repulse Arellano University, 2-0, and annex its fourth straight NCAA seniors football championship yesterday at the ASCOM pitch in Taguig City.

Cabug, who bagged the season MVP honors, struck on the ninth minute to open up the scoring for the Red Booters, who went two goals up on a penalty kick on the 69th.

The Red Booters finished the season unbeaten in nine matches, nailing their 21st football crown.
Nhiboy Pedimonte, who bagged the season MVP honors last season, went home with the Coach of the Year honors.

In the day’s other game, Lyceum nipped College of Saint Benilde, 1-0, to clinch third place, the Pirates’ highest finish since joining the league in 2011. The Blazers wound up in fourth.

The individual awardees were Arellano’s Alvin Obero (top goal scorer) and Pino Cristituto (best midfielder), San Beda’s Jim Ashley Flores (best striker), Lyceum’s Mandie Boy Lunag (best defender) and St. Benilde’s Bayan Ronilo (best goalkeeper).