Punta Fuego holds successful regatta


Posted at Jan 30 2014 05:41 PM | Updated as of Jan 31 2014 01:41 AM

Boats racing at Punta Fuego in Batangas.

MANILA, Philippines -- Boats of various sizes and sailors of varying ages competed over the weekend at the 12th Punta Fuego Regatta held in Nasugbu, Batangas.

The regatta kicked off at the marina of Peninsula de Punta Fuego, boasting of six classes which made the event the most diverse regatta in the country.

The race had the sailors racing in various courses that took them to the nearby Terrazas de Punta Fuego and islands such as Fortune Island. The last of the races finished early Sunday afternoon.

The list of participants included veteran boating enthusiast Peter Capotosto, who was pleased with the strong, cool winds and the sunny weather.

“January is usually the best time to hold a regatta in the Philippines,” he said.

The cooperative weather helped Capotosto steer his craft to third place in the class he competed in, which was the Hobie 16 class. Beating him at first place was Ridgley Balladares, while Emerson Villena settled for second spot.

Martin Tanco, who skippered Centennial II, topped the Cruising class. At second place was Jun Avecilla, captain of the Selma Star. Not far behind him was David Wheeler, who was skipper of Freewheeler.

Martin Tanco also steered the Centennial II to victory in a special class dubbed “Line Honours,” which had the sailors racing on the Terrazas to Fortune Island route.

Ridgley Balladares also triumphed in the same route under the Hobie class.

Robin Wyatt was the winner of the Multihull class. Her craft, Double Trouble, didn't have any trouble beating Jeff Williams' boat, the Tiamat, who had to settle for second place. In third place was Tony Ang who piloted the Meemee.

Philip Hagedorn, one of the more prolific yachtsmen in the country, placed first in the Hobie Get Away class. He was followed by Martin Marty in second and Bruno Vergues in third.

The Laser class was topped by Rubin Cruz, Jr., Roel Batlagan, and Alaiza Mae Belmonte who placed first, second and third, respectively.

Junior sailors comprised the Optimist class. These younger participants were trained to sail at the nearby Taal Yacht Club under the sponsorship of its commodore Peter Capotosto.

The Optimist class was topped by Janno Dalanon, who placed seventh in the same competition last year. In second and third, respectively, were Morris Lan Madlos and John Danhiel Parales.