3 share World Slasher Cup honor

The Philippine Star

Posted at Jan 29 2013 04:54 PM | Updated as of Jan 30 2013 12:54 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Three entries held their ground up to the last minute to close with eight points apiece and share top honors in the 2013 World Slasher Cup 8-Cock Invitational Derby grand finals last Sunday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

MS Summit PT MM JS of Peping Taba, Mark Salazar and Atty. Ed Moreno secured the first championship, beating Eliong Gonzaga’s Hawaii-1 inside 25 seconds in an applauded Fight No. 47.

Sonny, Rudy and Conrad Oribello of Oribello Brothers Gamefarm displayed pointing superiority in their deciding match (Fight No. 54) as their rooster practically toyed with the entry of Lucky Charm ZS of Zandy Sandoval to join the champion’s roster.

Vergil Intino’s Taligaman Warbird/LDI needed only 15 seconds to dispose of its opponent, Swing TM JR of Tony Marfori, and keep its perfect standing in the seven-day slash war presented by the Pintakasi of Champions at the Big Dome with Thunderbird Romoxytyl, B-Meg, Sagupaan and Supremo as major sponsors.

Allan Siaco and Mario Villamor’s AS Phoenix WRN would have been the fourth champion in the event featuring 324 entries if not for a loss to Rudy Albano’s Mulawin.

This win gave Mulawin 7.5 points for a tie for runner-up honors with JU Tiffany of James Uy and Harold Ramos.