Jr golfers, wushu bets Siddayao awardees

The Philippine Star

Posted at Jan 23 2014 07:41 PM | Updated as of Jan 24 2014 03:41 AM

MANILA, Philippines - The gold medalists in the seventh Asian Junior Wushu Championships and the par busters who topped their respective age group in the Junior World Golf Championships lead the latest batch of Tony Siddayao awardees to be honored during the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Annual Awards Night this Saturday at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel.

Ken Alieson Omengan spearheads the highly touted Filipino wushu bets, while Pauline Beatriz Del Rosario and Kristoffer Arevalo represent the young blood who make up the 10-man list being recognized by the country’s oldest media organization in a formal rite presented by MILO and with Air21 as major sponsor.

Given to athletes 15-years-old-and-below who showed great promise in their respective fields, the award is named after the brilliant late sports editor Tony Siddayao, considered the “Dean of Philippine sports writing”, who passed away in 1996.

Apart from Omengan, others winning gold medals for the country during the Asian junior championships include Johnzenth Gajo, Vanessa Jo Chan, Agatha Chrystenzen Wong, and the eight-man exhibition team.

Meanwhile, Del Rosario and Arevalo became the toast of the World Jungolf after ruling the girls’ and boys’ 13-14 age bracket.

Lou Daniella Uy will likewise be recognized for powering Team Philippines past Thailand in the girls’ 15-17 team championship in tandem with Princess Mary Superal.

Completing the Siddayao Awards to be handed out by the PSA for 2013 in partnership with Smart Sports, the Philippine Sports Commission, Sen. Chiz Escudero, Philippine Basketball Association, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation, Rain or Shine, Globalport, SM Prime Holdings, ICTSI- Philippine Golf Tour, and Accel at 3XVI are young chess whiz Alekhine Nouri and Mark Reggie “Moymoy” Flores in motocross.

Grandmaster Wesley So, basketball star Jeron Teng, promising boxer Eumir Marcial, and badminton netter Markie Alcala are some of the previous recipients of the distinguished award.

Including the 10-man Siddayao awardees, a total of 123 personalities and entities make up the year’s PSA honor roll list led by Gilas Pilipinas basketball team, which deservingly copped the prestigious Athlete of the Year.

The annual event aired live by long-time PSA partner DZSR Sports Radio 918, will also feature former recipients of the coveted Athlete of the Year honor.

Meanwhile, invitations had already been sent out to all awardees. But those who failed to personally receive their respective invites can get their copies at the lobby of the Manila Hotel Centennial Hall.