Pros from Ateneo, La Salle tangle in 'Dream Game'


Posted at Jan 02 2012 11:50 AM | Updated as of Jan 03 2012 06:46 PM

MANILA, Philippines -- The Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles and the De La Salle Green Archers add another chapter to their historic rivalry when professional players from both schools battle in a "Dream Game" on February 5 at the Araneta Coliseum.

According to, the "Dream Game" will be the first Ateneo-La Salle exhibition game in four years. Professional players from the two schools last met in an exhibition game in 2008, which ended in a 90-all tie.

The rival schools also met in a 2005 exhibition game, which the Blue Eagles won 88-85 thanks to an Enrico Villanueva 3-pointer. But that contest is best remembered for a scuffle that broke out between Villanueva and Joseph Yeo, resulting in the ejection of the former La Salle standout.

The 2012 Dream Game will also feature a coaching battle between Ateneo's Norman Black and La Salle's Franz Pumaren, who have both led their respective squads to "four-peats" in the collegiate ranks.

Pumaren was at the helm of a Green Archers squad that won four straight titles from 1998 to 2001, while Black has coached the Blue Eagles to four straight championships as well, starting in 2008.

The rosters for both teams are as follows:

Ateneo de Manila Blue Eagles De La Salle Green Archers
Enrico Villanueva Mike Cortez
Rabeh Al-Hussaini JV Casio
Severino "Nonoy" Baclao Jr. Mac Cardona
Japeth Aguilar Ren-Ren Ritualo
LA Tenorio Don Allado
JC Intal Joseph Yeo
Larry Fonacier Rico Maierhoffer
Doug Kramer Willie Wilson
Rich Alvarez TY Tang
Wesley Gonzales Ryan Arana
Magnum Membrere Carlo Sharma
Eric Salamat Jerwin Gaco
  Brian Ilad
Coach: Norman Black Coach: Franz Pumaren

Ateneo and La Salle have disputed the UAAP championship three times in the past decade, with the Green Archers winning in 2001 and the Blue Eagles taking home the crown in 2002 and 2008.