Bantay Kalikasan holds "Ride with Pride" to protect La Mesa Watershed

By ANA TERRESE M. JUNIO, Bantay Kalikasan

Posted at Oct 22 2008 04:36 PM | Updated as of Oct 24 2008 12:14 AM

Bantay Kalikasan's H2Hope project recently set forth Ride with Pride: First Eco-Bike Challenge to Protect the La Mesa Watershed.

With the goal of protecting the entire La Mesa Watershed and enhancing the area, bikers assembled to compete and rise up to the challenge of completing the race course in La Mesa. Registration started at 7:00 am and the program proper began at around 9:00 am. Paula Beriña, Project Officer of H2Hope, led the invocation after the flag ceremony.

In his welcome remarks, Valerio Mendoza, Project Manager of “Save the La Mesa Watershed Project”, described the geographical location of La Mesa Watershed, citing its 2,700 hectares range; 2,000-hectare land and 700-hectare reservoir. ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. Managing Director Gina Lopez expressed her gratitude to the bikers for their participation in the event.

Race Director King Bernas briefly explained the race mechanics. Victor Paterno, President and CEO of Seven Eleven, led the Oath of Sportsmanship. H2Hope spearheaded this event with the support of Seven Eleven, Soluziona, Deuter, Aqua Soft, Ecco, Spyder, W&H Faith and Arts Shop, Del Monte, Pocari Sweat, Binalot, Waffle Time, Krispy Kreme and Bo Shirts – indeed a testimony of “working together to make a difference.”

Gina Lopez led the countdown as bikers moved toward the interiors of La Mesa. Fun games with raffle prizes enticed the spectators as they answered trivia questions about Bantay Kalikasan and the environment as a whole.

The following are the winners for each category:


1st – Roldan Antonio
2nd – Clarence Acacio
3rd – Jhomilodin Lucman
4th – Judie Bermudez
5th – Glenn Nepomuceno

MALE (18 – 35 yrs. old)

1st – Jan Tecson
2nd – Arjuna Saulo
3rd – Jonathan Ollero

MALE (36 yrs. old & above)

1st – Angelito Glinigo
2nd – Hans Saab Santos
3rd – Isabelo N. Syjico


1st – Anna Marissa Remigio
2nd – Anelia Lucman
3rd – Pen Nepomuceno
4th – Antonella Fucoy
5th – Audrey Millet Cruz

FEMALE (18 – 35 yrs. old)

1st – Averyl Chua
2nd – Mariah Santiago Querol
3rd – Christaliza Tiu Tang

FEMALE (36 yrs. old & above)

1st – Michelle Selis Varona
2nd – Cheryl Jayco Bobis
3rd- Bernadette Capulong Tia