Reshuffle in 3 Davao police stations amid insurgency

Angelo Caballero, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 03 2017 08:28 PM

(L-R) C/Insp. Jack Tilcag, C/Insp. Nolan Raquid, and C/Insp. Roy Mateo are the new commanders of the Buhangin station, Calinan station, and Marilog stations, respectively. Angelo Caballero, ABS-CBN News

DAVAO CITY – The Philippine National Police (PNP) replaced chiefs of police in three stations in the city amid persistent reports of insurgency in their areas, the City Police Director said Wednesday. 

Assigned to head the Buhangin police station was Chief Insp. Jack Tilcag, in place of Chief Insp. Milgrace Driz. Chief Insp. Nolan Raquid took the post of Chief Insp. Carlito Apilat as Calinan police chief.

Chief Insp. Roy Mateo meanwhile became Marilog police station's newest commander, replacing C/Insp. Roman Alvarez.

The PNP replaced the previous commanders due to recent incidents of insurgency in their areas of responsibility, said Senior Supt. Alexander Tagum, Davao City police director.

"Sa mga panghitabo sa mga ulahi bali nagkaroon kami ng performance review at the same time outlook sa mga muabotay pa na panahaon. And nakita na kinahanglan na magkaroon ng movement sa offices," PS/Supt. Tagum said.

(We reviewed past happenings. We had a performance review, and looked at possible future events. Thus, we saw the need to have movement in our offices.)

The outgoing commanders will be transferred to the PNP headquarters in Davao City.