Floods swamp 9 Maguindanao towns

By Lore Mae Andong, ABS-CBN News Central Mindanao

Posted at Jun 17 2014 09:10 PM | Updated as of Jun 18 2014 05:10 AM

MAGUINDANAO -- The Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (RDRRMC) of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) is monitoring 9 towns in the province of Maguindanao that experienced flooding due to heavy rains in the past few days.

The rains have also caused some rivers to overflow.

Based on a report from RDRRMC, flooding started June 13.

Among the municipalities affected by floods are Mamasapano, Rajah Buayan, Shariff Saydona Mustapha, Datu Salibo, Datu Piang, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Sultan sa Barongis, Mother Kabuntalan and Northern Kabuntalan.

About 7,000 families were affected but no evacuation has been recorded.

The RDRRMC ordered local government units to continue monitoring the water level in said areas and evacuate people if the situation worsens.