SC junks petition vs Maguindanao martial law

by Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 20 2012 07:25 PM | Updated as of Mar 21 2012 03:25 AM

MANILA, Philippines - The Supreme Court (SC) voted today to dismiss the petition versus former President Gloria Arroyo's declaration of martial law in Maguindanao in 2009 in the aftermath of the Maguindanao massacre.

The SC said the case is moot and academic because martial law was already lifted.

Petitioners who questioned the declaration of martial law in Maguindanao include:

Maguindanao Representative Didagen Dilangalen,
National Union of People’s Lawyers together with Bayan and Gabriela,
Ampatuan lawyer Sigfrid Fortun and Albert Lee Angeles,
former Senate President Jovito Salonga together with former University of the Philippines College of Law Dean Raul Pangalangan along with lawyers Harry Roque Jr., Joel Butuyan, Emilio Capulong, Florin Hilbay, Romel Bagares, Dexter Donne Dizon, Allan Jones Lardizabal and Gilbert Andres and law student Joseph Nelson Loyola.

Petitioners argued that there was no basis for the declaration of martial law because there was no existing rebellion in Maguindanao.