NCRPO sacks 12 erring cops


Posted at Oct 10 2012 04:31 PM | Updated as of Oct 11 2012 04:27 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The National Capital Region Police (NCRPO) approved the dismissal of 12 erring policemen.

“Inuulit ko, ang NCRPO ay nangangailangan lamang ng mga pulis na tapat sa tungkulin, may tunay na paninindigan, at may malinis na hangarin sa pagseserbisyo ng tapat sa kapwa,” said NCRPO Chief Leonardo Espina.

Espina said PO3 Eddie Tayo, SPO1 Salvador Cardenas, SPO1 Elmer Parales, PO3 Alexander Rafer, and PO1 Jeffrey Surmaco committed grave misconduct while PO1 Al Rashid, PO1 Dennis Fadol, and PO1 Kenneth Asidao were ordered dismissed for being absent without official leave (AWOL).

PO1 Ricardo Sibayan, PO2 Jonathan S Leonardo, PO1 Alexander Delos Santos, and PO3 Romeo Bianes, on the other hand, were sacked for serious neglect of duties or non-appearance in court.

He also ordered the demotion of 11 policemen for grave misconduct. They are: PO3 Alain Sigua, PO2 Ehron Balauat, PO2 Christopher Flores, PO2 Rodnie Plana, SPO1 Edgar Mejia, PO3 Marlon F Gomez, PO3 Edgar Nargatan and PO1 Manuel Augdera.

PO3 Raymundo Potonia, P03 Edgardo Mariano and PO3 Rodolfo Laxamana were also demoted for being on AWOL.

Moreover, Espina ordered a 60-day suspension to seven cops, namely: PO1 Erickson Fajardo, PO3 Ronnie Aquino (grave misconduct); PO2 Alcee Jumaquiao, PO1 Pemar Taguinod and SPO1 Edris Hanani (non-appearance in court); and PO3 Rolando Monteverde and PO1 William Cajayon (AWOL).

This brings the total number of policemen dismissed to 34, 15 demoted and 7 suspended.

Meanwhile, the NCRPO has served the notice of the nullification of reinstatement of SPO1 Ricardo Cezar Pascua of the Quezon City Police District.

Pascua gained notoriety when he blocked the convoy of President Benigno Aquino III in July 17, 2012 along Commonwealth Avenue in Quezon City.