LTFRB offers Florida's 14 routes to other bus firms

Posted at | Updated as of 04/07/14 5:32 AM

MANILA -- The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) will offer other bus companies the 14 routes previously taken by Florida Bus Company.

In a resolution approved by the board, Florida Bus' 13 Manila-Cagayan-Manila routes and one Isabela-Manila-Isabela route will be offered to other bus companies.

The decision was made to ensure that there will be enough trips for passengers going to these destinations, after the LTFRB penalized Florida Bus Company with a six-month suspension following its involvement in the deadly accident in Bontoc, Mt. Province last February.

A total of 126 bus units are needed for the trips coming from Manila going to Aparri, Tuguegarao, Ballesteros, Sta. Ana, Bugay, Sta. Praxedes, Enrile at Claveria, Cagayan, as well as San Mateo, Isabela.

The LTFRB will issue special permits for out-of-line operation for bus companies who will apply for these routes. The bus companies should have good traffic record and should have existing franchises for trips to Ilocos, Cagayan Valley and Cordillera Administrative Region.

The special permits are valid until September 11, or until the suspension on Florida Bus Company is lifted. -- report from Dexter Ganibe, DZMM