LRT 1 and 2 Holy Week schedule announced


Posted at Mar 12 2012 03:40 PM | Updated as of Mar 12 2012 11:40 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA) on Monday said LRT lines 1 and 2 will be closed from the night of Holy Wednesday until Easter Sunday.

In an advisory, LRTA Spokesperson Hernando Cabrera said LRT 1 and LRT 2 will be closed beginning April 4 (Wednesday) 8 p.m. until April 8 (Sunday).

Normal operations will resume on April 9 (Monday) at 5 a.m. The country celebrates Araw ng Kagitingan on April 9, a regular holiday.

Engr. Emerson L. Benitez, LRTA Officer-In-Charge, said LRTA will conduct its annual maintenance work on both railways during the said dates.

Benitez said the maintenance work "will involve the cleaning and checking of all LRT facilities, systems and equipment, and replacement of catenary wires and rail ballasts along critical segments."

LRT 1 runs from Baclaran in Pasay City to Roosevelt in Quezon City, while LRT 2 stretches from Recto in Manila to Santolan in Pasig City.