House contingent for RH bicam named


Posted at Dec 18 2012 11:26 AM | Updated as of Dec 19 2012 01:15 AM

MANILA, Philippines - The House of Representatives has picked its members for the bicameral conference committee for the reproductive health (RH) bill.

Alliance of Concerned Teachers party-list Rep. Antonio Tinio said the House bicameral contingent includes Representatives Edcel Lagman, Henedina Abad, Teddy Baguilat, Kaka Bag-ao, Mel Sarmiento, Janette Garin, Cesar Sarmiento and House minority leader Danilo Suarez.

The Senate is expected to choose who among its members will be part of the bicameral conference committee this afternoon.

The Senate on Monday approved the bill on final reading, 13-8. The House passed it by a landslide vote of 133-79, with 7 abstentions.

The two legislative chambers can now meet to consolidate and ratify their versions of the bill.

President Benigno Aquino III hopes to sign the bill into law before the year ends. – with ANC