52 party-list groups get SC reprieve


Posted at Dec 14 2012 06:51 PM | Updated as of Dec 15 2012 08:16 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The Supreme Court (SC) on Friday named 52 party-list groups that will not yet be removed from the Commission on Elections' (Comelec) list of accredited organizations for the 2012 elections.

Rep. Juan Miguel "Mikey" Arroyo's Ang Galing Pinoy was among the 19 more to benefit from the high court's latest status quo ante (SQA) order on the Comelec's purge of party-list groups.

The others covered by the SQA are:

Binhi - Partido Ng Mga Magsasaka Para Sa Mga Magsasaka (BINHI);

Akbay Kalusugan, Inc. (AKIN);

Ako An Bisaya (AAB);

Alagad ng Sining (ASIN);

Association of Guard Utility Helper, Aider, Rider, Driver, Domester Helper, Janitor, Agent and Nanny of the Philippines, Inc. (GUARDJAN);

Alliance of Organizations, Networks and Associations of the Philippines, Inc. (ALONA);

1st Kabalikat ng Bayan Ginhawang Sangkatauhan (1st Kabagis);

Pilipinas Para sa Pinoy (PPP);

Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines Inc.;

The Philippine Association for Country - Urban Poor Youth Advancement Welfare (PACYAW);

1-United Transport Coalition (1-UTAK) Kalikasan partylist;

Association of Local Athletics Entrepreneurs and Hobbyists Inc. (ALA-EH);

Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines Inc. (Sr. Citizen);

1-Alliance Advocating Autonomy (1AAAP);

Abyan Ilonggo Party (AI);

Manila Teachers Savings and Loans Association Inc. (Manila Teachers); and,

Partido ng Bayan ang Bida (PBB).

The high court ordered the  Comelec to retain the party-list petitioners in the poll body's list of recognized organizations that will be raffled on January 4 next year for their order in the ballot.

The first SQA issued by the Supreme Court last November 13 covered an initial 33 party-list groups.