Kakusa, 14 parties barred in 2013 polls

By RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Oct 24 2012 02:49 PM | Updated as of Oct 25 2012 04:53 AM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATE 1) - The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has barred 15 parties, including incumbent party-list group Kakusa, from participating in the 2013 party-list elections.

Some of the groups have links to President Aquino's aunt Tingting Cojuangco, convicted former congressman Romeo Jalosjos, Mike Arroyo's spokesman Ferdie Topacio, and the wife of missing former general Jovito Palparan.

Chairman Sixto Brillantes said the poll body voted unanimously to cancel the accreditation of 12 existing party-list groups while denying the applications of 3 new parties.

He said the groups failed to meet the guidelines set forth by the Supreme Court in a ruling.

The only party with a sitting representative in Congress is Kakusa or the Kapatiran Ng Mga Nakulong Na Walang Sala Inc. The group is represented by Ranulfo Canonigo who declared a 2011 net worth of P2,647,208.00.

For the 2013 elections, Kakusa is nominating Jesusa A. Sespeñe, Romeo G. Jalosjos, Cipriano D. Robielos III, Jose Nelher D. Palma and Jose G. Pimentel.

The other existing party-list groups whose accreditations have been cancelled are:
AGRI - Agri-Agra na Reporma para sa Magsasaka ng Pilipinas Movement
Nominees: Michael Ryan A. Enriquez, Janice P. Cruz, Mindalisa F. Takeuchi,Dean E. Martin

AKMA PTM-Aksyon Magsasaka - Partido Tinig ng Masa
Nominees: Margarita Delos Reyes Cojuangco, Datu Michael Abas Kida, Catherine Domingo Trinidad, Saidamen Odin Limgas, Jeny D. Dueñas and Saturnino Duero Simbajon, Samuel Pajarillo Carampatana ,Helario R. Amas and Fernando Pahal Lindo
AKO AGILA-Ako Agila Sa Nagkakaisang Magsasaka
Nominees: Jacob C. Maganduga, Paterno P. Clapis, Jr. Liezl T. Repatacodo, Jane E. Montano Elizabeth R. Abad

AKO BAHAY-Adhikain at Kilusan ng Ordinaryong Tao Para Sa Lupa Pabahay Hanapbuhay at Kaunlaran
Nominees: Miles Mari Roces, Percival C. Chavez, Atty. Jose Conrado Barker C. Sabio, Apolonia A. Tolentino, Misael Philip R. Sañosa, Czar Ivan L. Zalameda
PACYAW-Pilipino Association For Country-Urban Poor Youth Advancement and Welfare
Nominees: Rene M. Velarde, Wilfrido Buyson Villarama: Dr. Antonio Godinez Calanoc, Maria Jocelyn Barles, Perla Z. Biron
PM MASDA-Pasang Masda Nationwide, Inc.
Nominees: Roberto L. Martin, Atty. Ferdinand S. Topacio, Raul B. Raquid, Marcelino C. Mejia, Rogelio C. Serquina
COFA-Coconut Farmers Association of Linamon Lanao del Norte, Inc.
Nominees: Juris O. Macabago, Rosalina L. Almaden, Sheila G. Morales, Editha D. Mabuhay, Johna Mae O. Sigue
ARARO-Alliance For Rural And Agrarian Reconstruction Inc
Nominees: Quirino D. Dela Torre Joel C. Obar , Jose F. Gamos, Elmer B. Cainday, Alan L. Gonzales
KATUTUBO-Partido Katutubong Pilipino
Nominees: Pedro Francisco O. Hernandez, Josephet S. Banghulot, Isabelo B. Aban, Jr.
OPO Pamilyang OFW-SME Network Foundation:
Nominees: Joel O. Itallo, Freddie A. Venida, Rafael A. De Leon, Kim G. Larroza and Maria Cristina A. Garcia

New parties that did not get accreditation
Nominees: Proceso L. Maligalig, Edwin M. Itable, Ericson C. Aurelio, Antonio A. Daza, Roberto G. Rocio
Nominees: Cipriano D. San Diego, Lourdes A. Gula, Elena R. Sta. Ana, Trinidad M. Domingo and Mauro M. Llorera, Jr.
Brillantes apologizes to Senate
Brillantes, meantime, apologized to senators for giving the impression that they boycotted Tuesday's Senate hearing. He said he will attend the next hearing on amendments to the party-list law.

The Comelec chief explained that the poll body was swamped with work yesterday.

He said that in the absence of a clearer law, the Comelec will have to decide what constitutes a marginalized sector on its own. He hopes the Supreme Court can help by reviewing its decisions already.

Brillantes also said they will consider the disqualification case filed against Akbayan.

Brillantes said the poll body will finish its review of existing party-list groups by October 30, 2012. He said new Commissioner Grace Padaca has broken the ties on party-list groups when the commission was evenly split.