84 senatorial bets file COCs

By RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Oct 05 2012 06:45 PM | Updated as of Oct 07 2012 01:05 AM

MANILA, Philippines – A total of 84 senatorial aspirants have filed their certificates of candidacy (COC) for the May 2013 midterm elections.
The Commission on Elections (Comelec) saw a last-minute surge of candidates, with 35 of the 84 filing their COCs on Friday.

The last candidate to file was Manuel Po, who was also the last bet to file his COC in 2009 for the 2010 elections.

Among those who filed on Friday were Nancy Binay, Alan Peter Cayetano, Risa Hontiveros, Bam Aquino and Jun Magsaysay.

After today, the Comelec will begin to entertain petitions to deny due course and declare as nuisance candidates from among those who filed.

Petitions may only be filed within the next 5 days.

Comelec spokesman James Jimenez said there is only one ground for due course: material misrepresentation on the COC.

Disqualification cases, on the other hand, may be filed until the proclamation of winners and can be based on many factors.

The names of candidates who filed their COCs will be known not later than October 10, 2012.

Jimenez also said Comelec Resolution No. 9518, which laid down the guidelines on the filing of COCs, states that the reports on the COCs received by all Comelec offices shall be prepared immediately after the last day of the filing of COCs.

The resolution further states that the Comelec Law Department shall prepare a Certified List of Candidates for Senatorial positions.

For the National Capital Region (NCR), the Regional Election Director shall prepare the list of candidates of Members of the House of Representatives while candidates for City Municipal positions shall be prepared by the City/Municipal Election Officer concerned.

For areas outside the NCR, the candidates' list for Members of the House of Representatives, Provincial, City and Municipal positions shall be prepared by the Provincial Election Supervisor.

Meanwhile, the list of candidates for ARMM Governor, Vice-Governor and Members of the Regional Legislative Assembly shall be prepared by the Comelec ARMM Regional Election Director.

The Certified List of Candidates, along with the CDs and copies of the COCs and the Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance shall be delivered and distributed to the Comelec's Law Department; Election Records and Statistics Department; Education and information Department and the Clerk of the Commission not later than October 10, 2012.

The complete list of senatorial candidates for 2013 below:

OCTOBER 1, 2012

1. PIMENTEL, Aquilino Martin III (PDP-Laban)
2. ESCOSURA, Anicio (Ind)
3. MAGTIRA, Daniel (Ind)
4. BERNARDINO, Aeric (Ind)
5. CHAVEZ, Melchor (KBL)
7. CAILING, Patrocino (Ind)
8. DONATO, Juanito (Ind)
9. LOZANO, Oliver (KBL)
10. ENRILE, Juan Ponce Jr. (NPC)
11. HONASAN, Gregorio (UNA)
12. ZUBIRI, Juan Miguel (UNA)
13. EJERCITO, Joseph Victor (UNA)
14. MACEDA, Ernesto (UNA)
15. GORDON, Richard
16. MAGSAYSAY, Maria Milagros Esperanza (UNA)
17. COJUANGCO, Margarita (UNA)
18. LAGATA, Merlito (Ind)
19. LEGARDA, Loren Lorna Regina (NPC)
20. AJEL, Remelyn (Ind)

OCTOBER 2, 2012

21. ESCUDERO, Francis Joseph
22. NOCON, Valerino III
23. VILLAR, Cynthia
24. DAZO, Catalino
25. FERNANDEZ, Eduardo
26. LLAMANZARES, Mary Grace (Ind)
27. SY, Johnny Cris (Ind)

OCTOBER 3, 2012

28. PENSON, Ricardo (Ind)
29. CASIÑO, Teodoro (Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan)
30. TRILLANES, Antonio IV
31. ANGARA, Juan Edgardo (LABAN)
32. ROJAS, Ericson Eli Felix (Ind)
33. SANTOSIDAD, Rebecca (Ind)
34. LAWAG, Victor (Ind)
35. MONTAÑO, Ramon (Ind)
36. HAGEDORN, Edward (Ind)
37. SUERTE, Orlando (Ind)

OCTOBER 4, 2012

38. GALANG, Virgilio (KBL)
39. CADION, Leo (KBL)
40. DIMAYA, Arsenio (Ind)
41. BAGUIO, Florentino (Ind)
42. BULA, Leonardo (Ind)
43. ALCANTARA, Samson (Social Justice Society)
44. HANDUMON, Benjamin Jr. (Ind)
45. MADRIGAL, Maria Ana Consuelo
46. DAVID, Rizalito (Ang Kapatiran)
47. LLASOS, Marwil (Ang Kapatiran)
48. DELOS REYES, John Carlos (Ang Kapatiran)
49. BELGICA, Greco Antonious (Democratic Party of the Phils)

OCTOBER 5, 2012

50. TOMOL, Rogelio
51. MAGSAYSAY, Ramon Jr.
52. AQUINO, Benigno Paolo
53. HONTIVEROS, Risa (Akbayan)
54. NUEVA, Norma (KBL)
55. SENERES, Christian
56. GUNDAYAO, Virgilio (KBL)
57. FALCONE, Baldomero (Democratic Party of the Phils)
58. VILLAMOR, Ulyn
59. CAYETANO, Alan Peter
60. GARAY, Roque
61. MARCOS, Francis Leo
62. CABRERA, Rafael Marco (Ind)
63. SORIANO, Cosme Omie (Ind)
64. ESPINOSA, Manuel Perez (Ind)
65. SALANGSANG, Pepito (Ind)
66. MANDAP, Elena (Ind)
67. CADAG, Victor Angelo (Ind)
68. GOROTIZA, Byron Adriano
69. SULIBIT, Nonato
70. FACTOR, Generoso
71. MALUENDA, Severo
72. PANCHO, Wenceslao Jr.
73. BANTOLO, Rosario
74. ABELLA, Alma
75. ENSIGNE, Manuel
76. NING, Carlito
78. BINAY, Maria Lourdes Nancy
79. WOOD, Victor
80. CAPULAR, Elizabeth
81. TALAG, Alfonso Jr.
82. LOPE, Wendell
83. RIRAO, Marlon
84. PO, Manuel