Ex-senators commemorate anti-US bases vote

by Ryan Chua, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Sep 22 2011 07:46 PM | Updated as of Sep 23 2011 03:46 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Some senators of the 8th Congress gathered at the Senate on Thursday to commemorate the 20th year of a historic vote that ended the stay of American military bases in the country.

Among those who attended the event were five of the 12 senators who voted no to the extension of the Philippines-US bases treaty: former Senators Wigberto "Bobby" Tañada, Orlando Mercado, Vic Ziga, Ernesto Maceda, and incumbent Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile.

Also present were former Senators Vicente Paterno and Leticia Ramos-Shahani, two of those who voted in favor of the American bases.