JBC receives 13 names for SC post


Posted at Sep 18 2012 12:46 PM | Updated as of Sep 19 2012 12:51 AM

MANILA, Philippines - The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has received 13 names for the post vacated by newly installed Chief Justice Ma. Lourdes Sereno, but only nine gave the green light to join in the process.

Court of Appeals Presiding Justice Andres Reyes Jr., Court of Appeals Associate Justice Ramon Bato, and Securities and Exchange Commission chairperson Teresita Herbosa applied for the post.

Those nominated, on the other hand, include: Court of Appeals Justices Noel Tijam, Magdangal de Leon and Isaias Dicdican; former Ateneo Law dean Cesar Villanueva, De La Salle Law founding dean Jose Manuel Diokno and former trial court judge Adoracion Avisado.

All six accepted their nominations.

Also nominated were: Government of the Philippines (GPH) - Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) Peace Panel Chairman Marvic Leonen; National Labor Relations Commission (NLRC) Presiding Commissioner Joseph Gerald Mabilog; former Energy Secretary Raphael P.M. Lotilla; and SC chief attorney Edna Dino.

They have not given their conformities to their nominations. Dino, on the other hand, outright refused her nomination. – from a report by Alex Calda, dzMM