All work in NCR, 9 provinces suspended


Posted at Aug 07 2012 10:22 AM | Updated as of Aug 08 2012 02:14 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Malacañang on Tuesday announced the suspension of work in private offices due to the inclement weather in the National Capital Region and 9 other provinces.

Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. said that as of 9:40 a.m. today, work in private offices has been suspended in the following areas:

1. National Capital Region
2. Zambales
3. Bataan
4. Pampanga
5. Pangasinan
6. Tarlac
7. Laguna
8. Cavite
9. Rizal
10. Bulacan

Malacañang earlier ordered the suspension of college classes and work in government offices in Metro Manila and other areas Tuesday because of heavy rains and floods.

The other areas covered by Memorandum Circular No. 33, series of 2012 that was signed by Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa, Jr. are  Zambales, Bataan, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Tarlac, Bulacan, Laguna, Cavite, and Rizal.

Ochoa, in the memorandum said decision to suspend classes and work was based on a recommendation made by the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) amid the heavy rains being experienced in Metro Manila and nearby provinces.

"However, those agencies whose functions involve the delivery of basic and health services, preparedness/response to disasters and calamities, and/or the performance of other vital public services shall continue with their operations and render the necessary services," the order said.