Arroyo's petition for bail in poll sabotage case granted


Posted at Jul 25 2012 08:30 AM | Updated as of Jul 25 2012 09:40 PM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) - Former President and now Pampanga 2nd district Representative Gloria Macapagal Arroyo's motion for bail in connection with her electoral sabotage case has been granted.

The Pasay City Regional Trial Court Branch 112 under Judge Jesus Mupas approved the bail in a resolution signed Tuesday.

Mupas, however, denied the motion for bail of former Maguindanao Election Supervisor Lintang Bedol.

The court sheriff is now on the way to Veterans Memorial Medical Center in Quezon City to serve the resolution.

Meanwhile, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) said they may file an appeal following the court’s decision favoring Arroyo’s motion for bail.

“We will probably file a motion for reconsideration with the same judge. In the meantime, what we're trying to verify now if it’s immediately executory or it will not become final until a motion for reconsideration is resolved. Yun lang ho ang gusto naming malaman muna,” Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes said.

Brillantes said they have yet to receive a copy of Mupas’ resolution.

“We would like to read it first. I was talking to our prosecution team immediately and they said they have to see first what were the reasons why the former president was granted bail,” he said.

He said, “This was just the bail hearing. This could give us the lesson na baka kulang pa yung evidence naming and we can present additional evidence in the trial on the merits of the case."

The Comelec chief said if the court’s order is executory and Arroyo immediately posts bail, she may be allowed to go home.

He, however, reiterated that Arroyo won’t be able to leave the country, as a hold departure order was issued by the Sandiganbayan against her in the plunder case for the alleged misuse of Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) intelligence funds.

“I know for a fact the Sandiganbayan has already issued a hold departure older in the plunder case. I don’t think she will be able to leave the country, but she'll be able to go out of the hospital and go home if she wants to,” he said.

Aside from Arroyo, nine other co-accused in the plunder case who are former officials of the PCSO and the Commission on Audit are included in the hold departure order.

They are:

- Sergio Valencia, former PCSO Chairperson
- Rosario Uriarte, former PCSO General Manager
- Manuel Morato, former PCSO Board Member
- Jose Taruc, former PCSO Board Member
- Raymundo Roquero, former PCSO Board Member
- Ma. Fatima Valdes, former PCSO Board Member
- Benigno Aguas, former PCSO Budget Officer
- Reynaldo Villar, former COA Chairperson
- Nilda Plaras, former COA Intelligence Officer

The order was in connection with the alleged misuse of some P365-million worth of funds of the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) from 2007 to 2010.

This is the third hold departure order against Arroyo.