PH assumes G-77 chairmanship


Posted at Jul 23 2014 03:34 PM | Updated as of Jul 23 2014 11:34 PM

MANILA – The Philippines has assumed chairmanship of the Group of 77 (G-77), the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) said.

The DFA said Philippine Ambassador to Vienna Lourdes O. Yparraguirre, the Permanent Representative of the Philippines to the United Nations in Vienna, officially assumed G-77 chairmanship on July 16.

The Philippines took over the chairmanship from Sri Lanka, which chaired the group from January to June 2014.

The DFA said Yparraguirre "affirmed that the Philippines has always been committed to the ideals and principles of this venerable institution which is commemorating its 50th anniversary this year, and conveyed her acceptance of her role with great sense of responsibility and humility."

As chair, Yparraguirre will lead the G-77 in advancing its interests within the framework of the different United Nations (UN) and other international organizations in Vienna such as UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), and the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-BanTreaty Organization (CTBTO).

The G-77 is a group of developing countries which was established during the first session of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneva on June 15, 1964.

The group is now composed of 132 countries but has maintained its original name "to keep the vision of the Group at its inception alive," the DFA said.

G-77 countries represent over half of the world's population and more than two-thirds of the entire United Nations membership.