Cebu Archbishop Palma elected CBCP president


Posted at Jul 09 2011 07:30 PM | Updated as of Jul 10 2011 10:43 PM

Newly elected CBCP president Archbishop Jose Palma celebrates mass with other Philippines bishops.

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) - The Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) has elected a new set of officials on Saturday amid the ongoing scandal about government funds given to prelates to buy new luxury cars.

During the CBCP's bi-annual plenary meeting at the Pope Pius XII Catholic Center in Manila Saturday morning, the council named Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma as president. His term will start December 1, 2011.

He will succeed Tandag Bishop Nereo Odchimar, who did not seek re-election.

Lingayen-Dagupan Archbishop Socrates Villegas was elected vice-president; Dumaguete Bishop John Du was named treasurer; while Msgr. Joselito Asis was elected secretary general. – with reports from RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News