Ong highest paid Sandigan justice in 2013

By Michael Punongbayan, The Philippine Star

Posted at Jul 02 2014 02:50 AM | Updated as of Jul 02 2014 10:50 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Gregory Ong was the highest paid magistrate of the anti-graft court last year.

In a report on salaries and allowances released this week, the Commission on Audit (COA) said Ong received a total income of P2.725 million in 2013.

Ong’s basic salary was P1.002 million, and he received P919,532 in allowances and P494,827 in bonuses, incentives and other benefits.

As chairman of the Sandiganbayan’s Fourth Division, he also received discretionary funds amounting to P264,902 and honoraria and personal economic relief allowance totaling P24,000.

Sources told The STAR Ong was the highest paid magistrate of the anti-graft court owing to his seniority.

Ong also acted as officer-in-charge for four months when former presiding Justice Francisco Villaruz retired in June 2013, which means his salary was adjusted to that of the head of the Sandiganbayan.

The COA report identified the second and third highest paid magistrates of the anti-graft court as Associate Justices Jose Hernandez and Roland Jurado with total incomes of P2.602 million and P2.577 million, respectively.

Presiding Justice Amparo Cabotaje-Tang, who assumed office as chief magistrate last October, had an income of P2.569 million last year, followed by Second Division chairperson Teresita Diaz-Baldos (P2.503 million), Maria Cristina Cornejo (P2.487 million), Napoleon Inoturan (2.478 million), Alex Quiroz (P2.467 million), First Division chairman Efren de la Cruz (P2.430) and Rodolfo Ponferrada (P2.419 million).

In 11th to 14th place based on total income are Associate Justices Oscar Herrera Jr. (P2.385 million) and Samuel Martires (P2.335 million), Alexander Gesmundo (P2.304 million) and Rafael Lagos (P2.228 million.

Associate Justice Theresa Dolores Gomez-Estoesta, who assumed office only last week, is not included in the COA report.