3 more nominated for Chief Justice

Posted at | Updated as of 06/16/12 3:14 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Three more people have been nominated for the post of Chief Justice.

SC Associate Justice Jose Perez was nominated by Asia Pacific Bar Association Incorporated.

Comelec Commissioner Rene Sarmiento was also nominated by Mrs. Zenaida Quezon Avanceña, daughter of President Manuel Quezon and daughter-in-law of ex-Chief Justice Ramon Avanceña, and San Beda College of Law Dean Virgilio Jara.

Saeed Daos, chairman of the Southern Philippines Development Authority, nominated University of the East (UE) Law Dean Amado Valdez.

The other nominees so far are:

journalist and former lawmaker Teodoro "Teddy Boy" Locsin, Jr.;

former Solicitor General Frank Chavez;
former University of the Philippines (UP) Law Dean Raul Pangalangan;

former Atty. Katrina Legarda;

Justice Sec. Leila de Lima,

Solicitor General Francis Jardeleza,

Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Commissioner Kim Henares,

former Ateneo de Manila Law Dean Cesar Villanueva,

retired Judge Manuel Siayngco, Jr.,

Laguna Asst. State Prosecutor Cesar Sasondoncillo,

Prof. Rafael Morales, and,

Atty. Nepomuceno Aparis.

The lone applicant, a certain Jocelyn C. Esquivel, a nurse, is not qualified to even be considered by the JBC, unless she is also a lawyer who has practiced law for at least 15 years.