3 associate justices nominated for CJ

by Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jun 15 2012 03:33 PM | Updated as of Jun 16 2012 06:48 AM

MANILA, Philippines (5th UPDATE) - Three incumbent Associate Justices of the Supreme Court (SC) are the latest addition to the growing number of nominees for the position of Chief Justice.

Associate Justice Roberto Abad was nominated by lawyer Nilo Divina, Associate Justice Jose Perez was nominated by the Asia Pacific Bar Association, Inc., while Associate Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Pres. Aquino's first appointee, was nominated by Felma Roel Singco, Reagan De Guzman, and lawyer Fidel Thaddeus Borja.

Composite image of Justice Jose P. Perez (L), Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno (C), Justice Roberto A. Abad (R). Photo courtesy of http://sc.judiciary.gov.ph

This brings to 8 the number of justices of the high tribunal nominated for the post vacated by Chief Justice Renato Corona.

The 5 most senior justices -- Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco, Jr., Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo De Castro, Associate Justice Arturo Brion, and Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta -- are automatically nominated.

All the nominated magistrates of the high court have yet to formally accept their nominations with the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC).

Justice Abad
Justice Abad was a consistent Dean's lister at the Ateneo De Manila University where he earned his law degree. He was a practicing lawyer for over 22 years. He joined the Office of the Solicitor General (OSG) in 1975, and was promoted to Assistant Solicitor General in 1985.

He also taught Political Law, Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Election Law, Law on Public Corporation, and Public International Law at the University of Sto. Tomas.

He was the Chairman of the 2011 Bar Examinations, which, for the first time in history, instituted the multiple choice questions.

He was appointed Associate Justice of the Supreme Court on Aug. 7, 2009.

Justice Abad is married to Atty. Victoria Martinez-Abad. He has 4 children: Liliarosa, Ma. Leila, Rex Niño, and Blessilda.

Justice Perez

Associate Justice Jose Perez enjoys the distinction of being the high court's first "homegrown" magistrate.

He spent his entire professional life in the Supreme Court prior to being appointed as Associate Justice on December 26, 2009. He was promoted Court Administrator in 2008 after serving in the said office as Assistant Court Administrator in 1996, and Deputy Court Administrator in 2000.

He finished law at the University of the Philippines (UP), and worked at the high court as a legal assistant in the Office of the Reporter in 1971, fresh out of law schools. He subsequently became a confidential attorney, supervising attorney, and Assistant Chief at the Office of the Chief Attorney. He served as Deputy Clerk of Court and Chief of the Office of the Reporter in 1987.

Justice Perez was appointed Associate Justice on Dec. 26, 2009.

He is married to Expedita Perez. They have 3 children: Jerico, Zernan, and Donnabelle.

Justice Sereno

Justice Sereno was appointed to the high tribunal on Aug. 13, 2010. The 51-year old magistrate is the youngest to be appointed to the high court in this century.

She practiced law for 23 years, and taught at the UP College of Law, her Alma Mater, for almost 2 decades. She also taught law at the Philippine Judicial Academy (PHILJA), Hague Academy of International law, University of Western Australia, and Murdoch University.

Justice Sereno holds a Master of Laws degree from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA. She served as legal counsel from 1994 to 2008 in the following government agencies: Office of the President (OP), OSG, Manila International Airport Authority, Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), World Trade Organization-ASEAN Free Trade Area (WTO-AFTA) Commission, and the Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA). She also served in the Commission on Human Rights (CHR) as a Deputy Commissioner.

Justice Sereno is married to Mario Jose Sereno; they have 2 children: Maria Sophia and Jose Lorenzo.

Complete list of nominees as of 4:45 p.m, Friday

1 - Associate Justice Roberto Abad was nominated by Atty. Nilo Divina of UST.
2 - Associate Justice Jose Perez was nominated by Asia Pacific Bar Association Incorporated.
3 - Associate Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, an appointee of President Aquino, was nominated by Felma Roel Singco, Reagan De Guzman, and Atty. Fidel Thaddeus Borja.

4 - Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio [automatic]
5 - Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco, Jr. [automatic]
6 - Associate Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro [automatic]
7- Associate Justice Arturo Brion [automatic]
8 - Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta [automatic]

9 - Justice Sec. Leila De Lima
10 - SolGen Francis Jardeleza
11 - BIR Commissioner Kim Henares
12 - Former UP College of Law Dean and current government peace panel chair in talks with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front Marvic Leonen was nominated by Vicente Romano III and Leah Navarro, and Judge Christian Castañeda.

13 - Comelec Commissioner Rene Sarmiento was nominated by Mrs. Zenaida Quezon Avanceña, daughter of former President Manuel Quezon and daughter-in-law of ex-Chief Justice Ramon Avanceña, and San Beda College of Law Dean Virgilio Jara.
14 - Saeed Daos, chairman of the Southern Philippines Development Authority, nominated University of the East (UE) Law Dean Amado Valdez.
15 - Former Energy Secretary Raphael Lotilla was nominated by economic journalist Calixto Chikiamco.
16 - journalist and former lawmaker Teodoro "Teddy Boy" Locsin, Jr.;

17 - former Solicitor General Frank Chavez;
18 - former University of the Philippines (UP) Law Dean Raul Pangalangan;
19 - family law expert Atty. Katrina Legarda;
20 - former Ateneo de Manila Law Dean Cesar Villanueva;

21 - retired Judge Manuel Siayngco, Jr.;
22 - Prof. Rafael Morales;
23 - Atty. Nepomuceno Aparis
24 - IBP National president Roan Libarios
25 - Rodolfo Robles nominated by Atty Ricardo Marasigan

Laguna Assistant. State Prosecutor Cesar Sasondoncillo declined his nomination.

Nurse Jocelyn Esquivel, lone applicant to the post, is disqualified for not being a lawyer or member of the Philippine Bar.

Nominee Hilarion Aquino is also disqualified since he is already 80 years old. The mandatory requirement age for justices of the Supreme Court is 70 years old.