Former Bulacan mayor appointed Energy Usec


Posted at Jun 01 2014 02:18 PM | Updated as of Jun 01 2014 10:18 PM

President Benigno S. Aquino III congratulates then-League of Municipalities of the Philippines president Donato Marcos after the oath-taking of LMP executive committee officers in this December 05, 2012 file photo. Photo by Lauro Montellano, Jr., Malacañang Photo Bureau

MANILA -- President Benigno Aquino III has appointed former Paombong, Bulacan Mayor Donato Marcos as Energy Undersecretary.

Marcosm, who was also a former president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines, will be joining Energy Undersecretaries Raul Aguilos (power), Ramon Allan Oca (oil), and Glorietta Ison (energy-efficiency).

The Department of Energy has been under fire for the massive brownouts affecting different regions of the country.

Earlier, Senator Sergio Osmena III slammed Energy Secretary Jericho Petilla for his alleged lack of management skills in resolving the energy crisis in the country. For ensuring energy security, Osmena gave the Aquino administration a low grade of 3 out of 10.

Aquino also appointed Patrick T. Aquino as Director IV at the DOE.

Ernesto Gaviola, meanwhile, was appointed as Assistant Secretary at the Department of Transportation and Communications.

Reynaldo P. Faustino was made Acting Director III of the Bureau of Research and Standards at the Department of Public Works and Highways

Arnold Joseph M. Co was made Acting Director IV at the Department of Justice

Norma B. Samantela, meanwhile, was appointed Acting Assistant Schools Division Superintendent of the Department of Education.