Cabinet SALN: DFA's Del Rosario richest, DepEd's Luistro poorest

by Aurea Calica, The Philippine Star

Posted at May 18 2013 09:52 AM | Updated as of May 18 2013 05:55 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert del Rosario remains the richest Cabinet member of the Aquino administration, while Education Secretary Armin Luistro is still the poorest.

Del Rosario reported a net worth of P705.48 million in 2012, up from P657.83 million in 2011. Luistro, for his part, reported a net worth of P550,651 in 2012, from P739,000 in 2011.

The biggest gainer, however, is Metro Manila Development Authority Chairman Francis Tolentino, whose net worth jumped from P22.54 million in 2011 to P43.77 million in 2012.

On the other hand, Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Teresita Deles reported a significant loss with a net worth of P7.092 million from P21.83 million last year.

Del Rosario’s net worth increased to P705.48 million based on his statement of assets, liabilities and net worth for 2012, compared to P657.83 million in 2011.

He is a successful businessman before entering public service as Philippine ambassador to the United States and foreign secretary.

His businesses include insurance, banking, real estate, shipping, telecommunications, consumer products, retail, pharmaceutical, and food industries, among others.

He also served as head of various private companies such as the Gotuaco, Del Rosario Insurance Brokers Inc., Philippine Telecommunications Investment Corp., and Philippine Stratbase Consultancy Inc.

At the same time, Del Rosario became a director of several other businesses engaged in infrastructure, property development, mass media, communications, and mining.

The second wealthiest Cabinet member is Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima with a net worth of P270.71 million in 2012 from P261.58 million in 2011, followed by Tourism Secretary Ramon Jimenez with P249.98 million from P238.23 million.

Interior Secretary Manuel Roxas II’s net worth was pegged at P203.35 million from P183.10 million.

Other Cabinet secretaries and their net worth are: Trade Secretary Gregory Domingo – P150.77 million from P153.10 million; Transportation Secretary Joseph Emilio Abaya – P104.45 million; Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa – P120.27 million; Cabinet Secretary Rene Almendras – P115.40 million from P117.21 million;

Energy Secretary Jericho Petilla – P111.29 million; Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala – P93.97 million from P87 million; Public Works Secretary Rogelio Singson – P83.85 million from P84.15 million; Health Secretary Enrique Ona – P80.23 million from P80.78 million; Science Secretary Mario Montejo – P63. 85 million from P55.58 million;

Commission on Higher Education head Patricia Licuanan – P49.26 million from P48.90 million; Budget Secretary Florencio Abad – P38.32 million from P29.65 million; Environment Secretary Ramon Paje – P30.88 million from P29.3 million; National Economic and Development Authority director general and Socio-Economic Planning Secretary Arsenio Balisacan – P25.76 million;

Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin – P23.87 million from P23.5 million; National Anti-Poverty Commission head Joel Rocamora – P22.37 million from P25.37 million;

Technical Education and Skills Development Authority Secretary Joel Villanueva – P22.47 million; Presidential Management Staff head Julia Abad – P20.37 million from P16.8 million; Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. – P17.56 million from P17.07 million;

National Security Adviser Cesar Garcia – P16.1 million from P15.6 million; Presidential Communications Operations Office head Herminio Coloma Jr. – P15.84 million from P14.74 million; Agrarian Reform Secretary Virgilio de los Reyes – P14.06 million from P14.25 million; Mindanao Development Authority head Luwalhati Antonino – P14.59 million from P14.09 million; presidential spokesman Edwin Lacierda – P13.76 million from P13.76 million; Presidential Legislative Liaison Office head Manuel Mamba – P10.86 million from P13.15 million;

National Commission on Muslim Filipinos Secretary Mehol Sadain – P11.52 million; Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office head Ramon Carandang – P7.55 million from P7.54 million; presidential political adviser Ronald Llamas – P5.46 million from P5.01 million; Justice Secretary Leila de Lima – P4.23 million from P3.61 million; Social Welfare Secretary Corazon Soliman – P3.24 million from P3 million; and Labor Secretary Rosalinda Baldoz – P2.98 million from P924,206.47.