Comelec proclaims Osmeña, Lapid, Guingona


Posted at May 18 2010 10:42 AM | Updated as of May 18 2010 07:16 PM

MANILA, Philippines (1st UPDATE) - The Commission on Elections (Comelec), sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBoC), on Tuesday proclaimed Sergio Osmeña III (independent/Liberal Party guest candidate), Manuel "Lito" Lapid (Lakas-Kampi CMD) and Teofisto Guingona III (Liberal Party) as senators until 2016.

Comelec Chairman Jose Melo said the poll body decided to proclaim the 3 bets since the remaining votes to be counted "would no longer materially affect the outcome of the election."

The proclamation was held at the Comelec main office in Intramuros, Manila at past 10 a.m.

Prior to the proclamation ceremony, Comelec Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal told ABS-CBN's Umagang Kay Ganda (UKG) that the Comelec en banc decided that the remaining uncanvassed certificates of canvass would not affect the winners in 11th to 13th places.

Larrazabal said there were less than a million votes yet to be officially tabulated by the Comelec, which makes it impossible for 13th placer Ana Theresia "Risa" Hontiveros-Baraquel of the Liberal Party (LP) to overtake 12th placer Guingona.

Guingona leads Baraquel by more than a million votes.

He said the Comelec was still waiting for the certificates of canvass (COCs) from parts of Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Iloilo and Samar provinces.

Old names, 2 new faces

Last Saturday, the NBoC proclaimed the first 9 winners who will serve until 2016 namely:

Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr. (Lakas-Kampi CMD);
Sen. “Jinggoy” Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino);
Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago (People’s Reform Party);

former Senate President Franklin Drilon (Liberal Party);
Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino);
Sen. Pia Cayetano (Nacionalista Party);

Rep. Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. (KBL/Nacionalista Party);
former Senator Ralph Recto (Liberal Party);
former Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III (Nationalist People’s Coalition).

Of the 12 senators who made it, only Marcos and Guingona are newcomers. Their fathers, the late former President Ferdinand Marcos and Teofisto Guingona Jr., respectively, both served in the Senate. – Report from Nelson Lubao, radio dzMM