Aquino appoints new gov't officials


Posted at Apr 28 2012 09:36 PM | Updated as of Apr 29 2012 05:36 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Malacañang on Saturday announced that new officials have been appointed in the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), and the Land Registration Authority (LRA).

In a radio interview, deputy presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte said President Benigno Aquino III has appointed Dr. Amelia P. Guevara as acting undersecretary of the DOST.

Guevara was previously the officer-in-charge of the Office of the Undersecretary for Research and Development, a position vacated by Dr. Graciano P. Yumul Jr. who served as undersecretary for Research and Development for 6 years.

Philippine Ambassador to Pakistan Jesus I. Yabes , meanwhile, will replace Esteban Conejos Jr. as Foreign Affairs Undersecretary for Migrant Workers' Affairs effective July 30.

Also seeing changes is the DPWH, with Edgar B. Tabacon being appointed as acting director 3.

Tabacon, formerly a division chief, replaces Danilo E. Diquito.

Valte also announced the appointment of Mimi L. Aquino-Santos as Registrar of Deeds 3 under the Land Registration Authority.

Aquino-Santos was previously designated as the deputy registrar of deeds of Lipa City.