8 ranking police officials placed on non-duty status


Posted at Apr 07 2010 04:29 PM | Updated as of Apr 08 2010 12:29 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Philippine National Police (PNP) chief Director General Jesus Verzosa has placed 8 ranking police officials on "non-duty status" as part of the police's effort to assure clean and peaceful elections in May 10.

A radio dzMM report said the action taken against the 8 police officials is included in a directive issued by Verzosa, which was meant to ensure that all line commanders will be able to fully contribute to the PNP's goal of clean, honest and peaceful elections.

The 8 officials mentioned in the radio report were:

  • Chief Superintendent Elmo San Diego, director of the Quezon City Police District;
  • Director Felizardo Serapio, head of the Directorate for Integrated Police Operations in Eastern Mindanao;
  • Chief Superintendent Isagani Cuevas, Western Mindanao regional police director;
  • Chief Superintendent Roberto Damian, Cagayan Valley regional police director;
  • Chief Superintendent Danilo Empedrad, Northern Mindanao regional police director;
  • Chief Superintendent Danilo Gaoiran, chief of the Security Agencies and Guards Supervision;
  • Chief Superintendent Juan Luna, director of the Finance Service; and,
  • Chief Superintendent Constante Azares Jr., Ilocos-Pangasinan regional police director.

The report said that the 8 officials' mandatory retirement dates fall between April 15 and June 30.

The PNP chief said the officials had to be replaced because they will be busy preparing for their impending retirement.

Verzosa has yet to name the officials’ replacements. – Report from Noel Alamar, radio dzMM