JBC shortlists 6 names for Sandiganbayan justice


Posted at Mar 01 2012 04:13 PM | Updated as of Mar 02 2012 03:17 AM

MANILA, Philippines - The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has submitted to Malacañang six names from which to choose a new member of the Sandiganbayan.

Assistant Solicitor General Amparo Cabotaje-Tang and Quezon City Regional Trial Court Judge Bernelito Fernandez secured seven votes each from the members of the council.

The others are: Regional Trial Court Judges Emmanuel Laurea of Malabon, Ma. Belen Liban of Malolos, Bulacan, Ruben Roxas of Manila and Esteban Tecla of Mandaluyong. They each got five votes.

President Benigno Aquino will choose from the list for the replacement of Francisco Villaruz Jr. who was promoted as Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice on October 5 last year.