Who's on shortlist for Sandiganbayan post

By Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Feb 25 2014 06:13 PM | Updated as of Feb 26 2014 02:13 AM

MANILA - From a list of 46 applicants, the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has shortlisted eight applicants for Sandiganbayan Associate Justice in the wake of the appointment of former Associate Justice now Presiding Justice Amparo Tang last October.

Makati Regional Trial Court (RTC) Judge Maryann Corpus-Manalac and Quezon City RTC Judge Bernelito Fernandez topped the list, with six votes each.

Antipolo RTC Judge Ronaldo Martin, Makati RTC Judge Andres Soriano, and Department of Justice Chief State Counsel Ricardo Paras III obtained five votes each.

Another DOJ official, Undersecretary Leah Armamento, was shortlisted; she obtained four votes.

Also with four votes are Manila RTC Judge Ma. Theresa Dolores Gomez-Estoesta and Assistant Solicitor General Marissa Macaraig Guillen.

The list will be forwarded to Malacanan. President Aquino has 90 days to appoint the next magistrate of the anti-graft court.